Waiting for bees

17 Apr

Received word that my new nucleus colony (nuc) with an Italian queen should be ready for pick up in 2 weeks – I can’t wait!  My first package bees with an Italian queen were the sweetest in nature so I’m hoping for the same.   I spent time this weekend preparing a new spot for the hives and leveling the hive stands.    I used cement foundation pieces from old pillars reclaimed from the renovated front porch to create a level base for the cinder block hive stands.  This should help to keep the vegetable oil covering all parts of the tray in the screened bottom board trap I use to control small hive beetle.

Leave a Reply

