Image

Spring’s warmth arrived

9 Apr

Finally some warmer temps!  Heard this hawk (?) overhead while I was gardening on Sunday … I’m still trying to id it.

Wooly Adelgid on Hemlock

As for plant pest id’s – unfortunately I discovered wooly adelgid attacking my native Eastern hemlock – I mixed up some horticultural oil and sprayed the branches above and below to help reduce the numbers.   Whew!  I’m glad I noticed during the egg laying/crawler stage when it’s an appropriate time to spray.

After that project, I took a walk around the yard to look for new plants blooming and here’s what I found…

Pink Star Magnolia blooms

Pink Star magnolia bud

Grape Hyacinth sprouting

Grape Hyacinth sprouts

Peony sprouting from the ground like clasping fingers

Peony sprouting

2 Responses to “Spring’s warmth arrived”

  1. Karen April 9, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

    It looks like you are well on your way to a pretty spring.

    • potatodimple April 10, 2013 at 2:21 am #

      Thank you very much – I’m new to blogging and have a lot to learn about the formatting and features — I really like the look of your blog along with the content!

Leave a Reply

